Transitioning to Fall at the Rivertown Inn

Give me the end of the year an’ its fun 
When most of the plannin’ an’ toilin’ is done; 
Bring all the wanderers home to the nest, 
Let me sit down with the ones I love best, 
Hear the old voices still ringin’ with song, 
See the old faces unblemished by wrong, 
See the old table with all of its chairs 
An’ I’ll put soul in my Thanksgivin’ prayers.

                                 Edgar A. Guest

It’s the 29th of October, 2012….the day is gray, crisp and beautiful, and a warm soup is definitely in order.  And finally….finally….I’m back to writing my blog.  I love writing it – though I struggle with the technical details more than I care to admit.  I’m determined to climb this mountain; you’ll be seeing much more going forward.  I’ve got people…you know who you are…and with such fantastic support I have every confidence I’ll soon have this completely understood.

Every season has its own beauty, but none inspires me like fall.  This Edgar Guest poem speaks so eloquently of Thanksgiving, and for me it means my boys all come home from college in just a few weeks. Sitting around the table seeing both the old and young is the very soul of the season.  I can hardly wait…having all three of them home again at one time completely fills me up.

At the Rivertown Inn we’re getting ready for the beautiful season in lots of ways.  Chef Ray Remler has created an extraordinary 2013 cooking class schedule and we’re finalizing the details now.  These classes are consistently filling up, and guests love them.  Unlike many we cap the participants at 6 so you truly experience the preparation of each dish.  Have you been?  We also offer private cooking classes: assemble your book club, family or friends and work out the details with Ray for a memorable afternoon you’ll all love.  We’ll post the schedule on our website soon.  What a wonderful family gift or team building event!

The month of November is a wonderful opportunity to purchase the gift of a night at the Rivertown Inn for 25% off.  When you subscribe to our e-newsletter  you can take advantage of this month-long offer for any main house suite or bedchamber.  The details are all there….check it out today. You’ll surely be rewarded with the recipient’s gratitude all year long.  This offer is good through the entire month of November, and there is no limit to the number of gift certificates you can purchase at this rate.

I am so grateful to our entire Rivertown Inn staff for their dedication, professionalism and hard work; and to our new gardener Gail for her enthusiasm and artistry.  We’re putting the gardens to bed for the season, and the Winter transition is in full swing.  The fountains will be shut off later this week and the warm, luxurious smells of cinnamon and allspice will be drifting from the ovens soon.  Chef Ray’s daily cookies will soon take a holiday turn; they’re always made with fresh, healthy ingredients so they’re even more enjoyable than your average cookie this time of year.  The fireplaces are all ready to warm you, and the ambience at the inn will give you reason to slow down and enjoy the beauty of the season.

Enjoy a slideshow of the fall gardens transitioning to winter….seriously enjoy it….because I cannot even tell you what went in to figuring out how to do a slideshow on WordPress.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I hope to see you soon at the Rivertown Inn.  Sign up for our e-newsletter to take advantage of our special deals, and be the first to know about cooking classes, special events, and Rivertown Inn news and Stillwater happenings you may enjoy.  Thanks for reading  my blog; I can assure you the posts will be more savvy and fun as time goes on.

Now what’s in the wine cellar….

3 thoughts on “Transitioning to Fall at the Rivertown Inn

  1. Beautiful! Loved the slideshow…what a lovely way to start my day. The Rivertown Inn is a peaceful deep breath of calm. Thank you for sharing it with all of us.

  2. You covey lovely images of the season and of Rivertown Inn. Your slideshow keeps the best of Autumn flowering, green and alive in our mind’s eye! Beautiful!

Leave a Reply

